Beyond the Machine


Beyond the Machine

Beyond the Machine is a multimedia performance environment that offers young musicians, actors, and dancers the opportunity to bring their creative ideas to life with new technology. Our programs feature collaborations with creative artists from around the world who share an interest in new media and interdisciplinary work. Now in its 16th year, the festival has grown to include biannual performances of new music and multimedia art.

Beyond the Machine has received critical acclaim from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Musical America for innovative programming. “Basetrack Live,” a multimedia work first produced on Beyond the Machine in 2012, was hailed by The New York Times as one of the “top 10 theatrical events of 2014”.

Beyond the Machine programs feature innovative performance technology that allows artists to expand the range of their instruments, control audio and visual elements with electronic tools, shape video and projection design in real time, and interact with artists and computers around the world via the Web.


Throughout history, composers and performers have sought ways to expand the expressive capabilities of musical instruments. Instrument makers responded by adding keys, valves, extensions, pedals and other mechanical advancements that in turn, inspired the creation of demanding new works.

With the advent of digital and interactive technology, the expressive potential and technical standards of musical performance have been raised again. Today, performers are frequently asked to use sophisticated performance tools and software and interact with computers. eVirtuosos provides opportunities for the next generation of artists to use innovative performance technology.


Alumni of Beyond the Machine include some of today’s most dynamic creative artists:

Music: Mason Bates, BlindEar, Vicky Chow, Jakub Ciupinski, Avner Dorman, Cornelius Dufallo, Ethel, Ralph Ferris, Ryan Francis, Clarice Jensen, Paola Prestini, Adam Schoenberg, Nadia Sirota, Spence Topel, David Wallace, Arianne Warsaw-Fan, Eric Whitaker and Airi Yoshioka.

Dance: Esme Boyce, Charlotte Bydwell, Andrea Miller, Rebecca Stenn, and Yara Travieso. 

Theater: Ian Belton, Roderick Hill, Juile Jesneck, Kirsten Kelly, Sara Ramierez, Alejandro Rodriguez, Cameron Scoggins, Samantha Soule, Brendan Spieth, and Yara Travieso.



Edward Bilous, Artistic Director & Co-founder
William David Fastenow, Associate Director
Jaclyn Birkner, Producer
Paul Hudson, Lighting and Scenic Designer

Sarah Outhwaite, Video Designer
Kevin DeYoe, Interactive Technology Designer
Isaac Aaron Jones, Audio/Video Engineer
Greg Kalember, Mix and Record Engineer
Milica Paranosic, Co-founder
Nathan Prillaman, Music Producer / Sound Designer
Jarrod Ratcliffe, Technology Consultant