Featured Image


The Drama Division at the Juilliard School is one of the most respected and renowned conservatory programs for theater artists in the world. The Division’s outstanding creative reputation, distinguished faculty, and extraordinary level of rigorous professional training have enabled 40 years of alumni to excel as artists, leaders and global citizens.

Founded in 1968 by the renowned American director, producer and theater administrator John Houseman and the French director, teacher and actor Michel Saint-Denis, the program is a four-year curriculum that emphasizes intuition and spontaneity as well as discipline, technique and intellectual development. It is an approach that synthesizes what was once considered "European" in terms of vocal training, physical training, text and style with what is peculiarly and brilliantly American—immense physical energy, intellectual and imaginative daring, and a fierce commitment to emotional honesty. Successive leaders have included such distinguished theater practitioners as American director and educator Alan Schneider, English director and renowned Shakespeare interpreter Michael Langham, and the American director and current Artistic Director of the Shakespeare Theater in Washington, D.C., Michael Kahn. The current Richard Rodgers Director of the Drama Division is James Houghton, founding artistic director of New York’s Signature Theater Company.

The Drama Division has continually expanded and revised its programs, responding to and anticipating the need of the contemporary theater artist. Some of the significant additions, among others, have included expanded faculty and curriculum, additional performance opportunities, and the addition of the Lila Acheson Wallace American Playwrights Program. Our acting and playwriting alumni have distinguished themselves in all areas of the arts including theater, film, and television. We are proud to announce the creation of the Master of Fine Arts Program in Acting with implementation beginning with the incoming class of 2012.


Related Links
Related Links