Juilliard Dance Appears on "Fall for Dance" Festival in Pam Tanowitz's "Fortune" on Saturday, September 29, 2012 and Sunday, September 30, 2012 at NY City Center

Start Date

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Press Release Images

Pam Tanowitz's Fortune (Photo by Rosalie O'Connor)
Pam Tanowitz's Fortune (Photo by Rosalie O'Connor)


Juilliard Dance appears on New York City Center’s Fall for Dance, 12-day festival, on Saturday, September 29, 2012 (8 PM) and Sunday, September 30, 2012 (7 PM) in Pam Tanowitz’s Fortune (2011). Juilliard dancers from the class of 2013 will perform Bessie Award-winning choreographer and 2011 Guggenheim Fellow Pam Tanowitz’s Fortune, set to live contemporary music - Charles Wuorinen’s Fortune (1978) for violin, cello, piano, and clarinet. The music will be performed by Juilliard musicians. The structure of the dance is prescribed by the music but not dictated by it, with movement motifs mined from classical ballet and filtered through a contemporary lens. Fortune had its premiere at Juilliard on New Dances; Edition 2011.

This is Juilliard Dance’s third appearance on the Fall for Dance festival. Past performances by Juilliard dancers include: Larry Keigwin’s Megalopolis (2009) with Keigwin + Company in 2010; and Twyla Tharp’s
Deuce Coupe (1973) in 2007.


Juilliard dancers performing in Fortune will be Gillian Abbott, Ernesto Breton, Maximilian Cappelli-King, Jason Collins, Meghan Fluker, Molly Griffin, Lindsay Harwell, Julia Headley, Fiona Hoffman, Garth Johnson, Christopher Kaiser, Ingrid Kapteyn, Scott McCabe, David Norsworthy, Tyler Phillips, Raymond Pinto, Jenna Pollack, Briana Robinson, Lilja Rúriksdóttir, Lea Ved, and Katherine Williams.

New York City Center is located on West 55th Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues in midtown Manhattan. Tickets are $15 and go on sale Sunday, September 9, 2012 (11 AM). For further information on Fall for Dance and ticketing, go to www.nycitycenter.org.

This fall semester at Juilliard, New Dances: Edition 2012 features four world premiere commissions by choreographers Camille A. Brown, Emery LeCrone, Susan Shields, and Jarek Cemerek. Performances take place from Wednesday, December 12 - Sunday, December 16 in Juilliard’s Peter Jay Sharp Theater. For more information, go to www.juilliard.edu.

The Juilliard Dance Division, entering its 61st season in 2012-2013, is a groundbreaking conservatory dance program whose faculty and alumni have changed the face of dance around the world. The program was established in 1951 by William Schuman during his tenure as president of Juilliard with the guidance of founding director Martha Hill. It became the first major teaching institution to combine equal dance instruction in both contemporary and ballet techniques. Among the early dance faculty members at Juilliard were Alfred Corvino, Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey, José Limón, Anna Sokolow, Antony Tudor, and Hector Zaraspe.

Ballet master and master teacher Lawrence Rhodes was appointed the director of the Juilliard Dance Division in July 2002. In his ten years as director, he has reordered the curriculum and elevated requirements for the diploma and degree programs at Juilliard. He has increased the number of performances and brought in many prominent choreographers to work with the students. Graduates of the program have gone on to perform with virtually every established contemporary and ballet company in the United States and abroad, and also are among the directors and administrators of respected companies worldwide.

Alumni of Juilliard’s Dance Division include: Robert Battle, Pina Bausch, Martha Clarke, Mercedes Ellington, Robert Garland, Charlotte Griffin, Kazuko Hirabayashi, Adam Hougland, Saeko Ichinohe, Jessica Lang, Lar Lubovitch, Bruce Marks, Susan Marshall, Austin McCormick, Andrea Miller, Ohad Naharin, and Paul Taylor.