ABQ Kicks Off Saidenberg Series

Monday, Sep 10, 2018
Juilliard Journal
Share on:
American Brass Quintet

Featuring Works by Melinda Wagner, Dan Coleman, John Zorn, and David Sampson

This year’s first Saidenberg Faculty Recital, by the American Brass Quintet on September 24, covers a lot of ground chronologically. It begins with a suite of Elizabethan dances composed by lutenist Anthony Holborne. They were published in 1599 and edited much more recently by Gerard Schwarz (BM ’72, MM ’90, trumpet), the conductor laureate of the Seattle Symphony. The program rockets forward in time with two works composed for the quintet: Daybreak by Dan Coleman (MM ’95, composition) and Brass Quintet No. 1 by Melinda Wagner, the Pulitzer Prize-winning new chair of Juilliard’s composition department. The evening continues with John Zorn’s moody Blue Stratagem and David Sampson’s meditation-inspired Still before circling back to the past with Spanish and Italian polychoral music by Renaissance composers de Vivanco, Guerrero, and Gabrieli. The Saidenberg recital series continues throughout the year.